We need to talk…

Dear Short Leg,

This was not an easy decision, but after 27 years I think it’s time we part ways. It’s not you – it’s me! I have come to realize I lean on you far too much and it’s time for me to stand on my own two feet – literally. Okay, so it is you, too. I have grown so much over the years and you just have not. You still have many shortcomings I just cannot accept. Quite frankly, you’re annoying. But if I could go back, I wouldn’t change a moment of our time together. You’ve made me who I am today. You taught me to love myself despite my flaws and be confident even though I am different. We both know you are not the best looking leg in town, but I loved you nonetheless!  Breaking up is hard to do and just like when any other relationship ends, this is going to hurt for quite some time. It’s going to be really painful for me and I may even question my decision to do this. Although I know in my heart it is the right thing. No need to call or e-mail. I like to make a clean break. I have many pictures and memories that I will hold dear.

I will never forget you and am thankful for all we’ve learned together.

Thanks for everything,

Carly Flynn

PS – You need to get your stuff out of my apartment ASAP, because your shoes are taking up way too much space in my closet.

14 thoughts on “We need to talk…

  1. Carly, you are such an inspiration and share
    your testimony so beautifully! Thank you.
    Please know we are praying for you!

  2. Carly, Wow!!!! 27 years seems like a life time ago, when your parents entrusted their bundle of joy into my arms to care for. I enjoyed every minute I had with you. You were a beautiful baby and you are now a beautiful woman. Our God is a wonderful God. I Thank Him for the short time that you and your family were in my life. You are strong and God will make you even stronger..Love always, Jenny

  3. Oh, Carly, you are something else. You have the most wonderful attitude of anyone I know. You are so positive and that’s half the battle. I KNOW you will do well with the surgery and I am praying that you will suffer as little pain as possible. I know there will be a lot of pain though, but the Lord is right there with you all the way and that will make it a whole lot easier. I love your PS about the shoes. God bless you. I am praying for you today as the Lord guides the surgeon’s hands.

  4. Dear Flynn,
    You were one of the most creative girls at camp, full of love for life. I can tell that you have grown into a woman of amazing character, and I’m glad that you’re blogging as you travel this road. We’ll be praying for you today and for the days ahead on this journey.
    —Shayne

  5. Good luck! I’m friends with your cousin Amanda. I am fascinated by what you are doing and know it’s going to be a difficult but wonderful thing. My husband as avascular necrosis in his hip and had to have a total hip replacement at 35 years old. It was painful but 3 years later he is pain free and happy he finally did it. I wish you the best and a speedy recovery! We’ll be thinking about you here in central PA and cheering for you all the way!

  6. Thank you for posting your blog about something so personal. Hopefully this will find it’s way into the hands of the many children and adults who have the same or similar physical problems. It may inspire them to go forward with surgery of their own or certainly it will give them how a positive perspective can be applied to make life much better.
    It takes courage to “ask” for the surgery and ensuing pain.. even with rewards and even more so to offer up your personal trial to anyone and everyone. Thank you for those who it will surely inspire.
    We heard the surgery went well and only wish and pray for as painfree and quick a recovery as possible.

  7. Your literary talents are showing. Personifying your leg in this blog post like you did was both creative and moving! I guess I’m reading it from the perspective of an English teacher! We are inspired by your strength and attitude and we love you very much! Keep blogging!

  8. I work with your dad and he shared your blog with me. I hope you’ll keep writing about your journey as you’re able, you have a great writing voice. Please know you’ll be in my prayers and I’ll be looking forward to reading more about your long journey!

  9. Carly:You are definitely something else!! I know where you’re coming from concerning the epidurals (I’ve had a total of 14). THEY HURT!! I’ve never met you, but I think I’ve seen all your news casts. I’m praying for you (and for . your Mom and Dad). To know your child is hurting makes a parent hurt almost as bad. Hope your recovery period is short and very helpful…

Leave a Reply

