GUEST BLOGGER: Mom

Aren’t moms great? Mine sure is. If you’ve been following this blog, you’ve already realized how much she is by my side – many times literally – through this ordeal. She’s also taught me many life lessons along the way, including: people are more important than things, the only person you can control is yourself, things almost always look brighter in the morning, and well, how to share.

Sharing is what I’ll do now. She has asked to grab a little piece of my blogosphere and that’s just fine with me. Here is what she wanted to share with you:

Hi Everyone, this is guest blogger Mom! Thanks to all of you for your prayers and good thoughts for a very wonderful daughter and your well wishes for me too.

 The day Carly was born.

Taking care of Carly after surgery is a 24/7 responsibility, but I’m happy to do it. It’s the price you pay for the wonderful privilege of being a parent. I remember when she was a newborn with colic; I made up this song to the tune of “The Bear Went Over the Mountain” as I carried her around and around the dining room table for hours to comfort her:

There’s seven days in a week,

There’s seven days in a week,

There’s seven days in a week,

To love Baby Flynn.

Verse Two!  There’s 24 hours in a day…

Verse Three! There’s 12 months in a year…

Repeat!

 This is Carly at the age when she had colic.

Eventually she outgrew her colic, although it took several months, and this current challenge will resolve itself too. Until it does I’m so glad that I can be here to help. Conception takes a moment, gestation nine months, but parenting lasts a lifetime.

As I am fond of telling her, there has never been one day that I haven’t been proud to be Carly’s mother. I’m glad you think she’s special too!

7 thoughts on “GUEST BLOGGER: Mom

  1. Fay, what a wonderful tribute to an exceptionally fine daughter. I agree that there’s nothing better than raising a daughter, as I had two……….the hardest thing now is to keep reminding myself that they’re perfectly able to make decisions for themselves and that they love us even though we don’t talk every single day. I know that all that you do has been done in love and concern for your beautiful daughter, whom we can’t wait to see back in Chattanooga.
    Mary Ann S.

  2. I stated following Carly’s blog because my son is having a leg-lengthening and correction surgery on May 22nd. He is 16 and he will have 2 outside frames. I wanted to ask Mom a few questions. I work full-time, but I do have the ability to work from home, how long should I make plans to be out of the office? How many days was Carly in the hospital after her surgery? Devans surgeon said he could be in-paitent from 2 to 4 days.
    This blog has helped us so much and I have already reached out to Carly and she was so nice to then reach out to my son. Thank you so much for blogging about this.

  3. Thanks for sharing this about Carly. I, too, have a daughter and love being her mom. She has been a joy to us all of her life and now she has a daughter. We sure miss Carly, but know that she will soon be back on Fox61 at 10. You and your husband have raised a wonderful daughter.

  4. So nice to hear from our guest blogger Mom! I had to smile at your reflection of holding her & comforting her when she was little. I did that tooooo – lots of long nights/early mornings – but like you said – what a privilege! I’m still in awe of the fact God entrusted me with my daughters to raise – 20 years apart (yes, I have a 7 year old and a 27 year old)!

    You have obviously instilled Ms. Carly Flynn Morgan with values that will last her a lifetime – what a gift you have given her. And what joy, I’m sure, she has brought back to you.

    With that said – dear “guest blogger Mom” – I sincerely pray for your strength as a caregiver. And, I will continue to pray for your cherished daughter!

  5. I get a blessing from each blog i read! I have been praying for Carly and her family through this. I as a mom know that i would be right there for either of my girls. I also know that my youngest has also been there for me as I went through back surgery and the recovery following. Also as I read about this journey it kinda shows me some of what my own h7usband and his mother went through and the bond it gave them. (my husband had polio as a baby and under went 23 surgeries growing up) this was also in a day of not so current medical abilities!
    I pray God give you each strength to conquer each day! God bless you each of you! Love and prayers..cant wait for her to be back home! ….on our tv sets!

Leave a Reply

