… it’s over?

They say writers feel more inspired when they’re conflicted, so I guess the fact that I haven’t written anything in several months could be a good thing.

For a while, there wasn’t much to update. Since I did my last lengthening in July, I was just waiting… and waiting… and waiting… and waiting for my bone to heal and to get off of the crutches. I was just going to work and doing everyday things, only with my little buddy – the crutch. A new year rolled around and I still wasn’t back to normal. Crutches became part of my life and began to feel like an extension of myself. But then in February, after what felt like my 976th x-ray, I got the okay from my doctor to ditch the crutch and walk on my own.

At first I was obviously very weak. It took about a month to figure out my new gait and for my foot and knee to get used to what was happening. But for the past several weeks I’ve been walking pretty normally and even working out again on the elliptical.

I feel like maybe I was putting off a last blog post because I’m not sure how to sum up this experience. It was very long and very difficult at times, but now 13 months later I’m happy with the results.

A year was going to go by whether I did anything about my short leg or not. Looking back on this past year, it was a good time to do it and get it over with once and for all!

My right leg is still a tad shorter than my left and will be forever. But it’s such a small discrepancy compared to what I had my whole life – that’s okay. I don’t have to wear a lift on my shoe, but can wear a small insert to boost me up a little in shoes where that works.

I’m very grateful to the friends and family who supported me and gave encouraging words when I needed it most!

I’m looking forward to where life takes me on the next leg of the journey… and now I can make my way there a little more evenly!

3 thoughts on “… it’s over?

  1. So thankful that the Good Lord has helped you make it through this long journey ! Blessings for a long and happy life!

  2. Dear Carly, It was so nice seeing you this morning. Thanks for sharing this last blog. Although we never did really notice that you had a shorter leg, we know how satisfying it must be for you to now be able to walk without being concerned about that discrepancy. You’ve been so brave throughout this long ordeal, and so comforting to those of us who shared it with you. We wish you the very best in the future, wherever that may be spent, but short-term, we hope to see more of you here in Chattanooga. You’ve been a joy to know, and we’ll hpe to see you again soon. With love, Mary Ann and Ed

  3. PRAISE THE LORD!!! I am so happy for you. All the pain and effort has paid off and I know you are glad that it’s all behind you now. You are a stronger person because of what you’ve gone through. You should be very proud of yourself. We enjoy watching you report the news and hope that you will stay around for a long time. God bless you, Carly! Love to you. Bertha

Leave a Reply

